Feb. 21, 2014—Houghton Mifflin Harcourt today announced a new addition to its renowned Best American Series®.  THE BEST AMERICAN SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY will launch in October 2015 with John Joseph Adams as series editor and Joe Hill as the inaugural guest editor.

“So many award winning and bestselling novels have been infused with science fiction and fantasy elements in recent years as have recent films and television series. It is perfect timing to add this subject area to our Best American series,” says HMH Publisher Bruce Nichols.

“Science fiction and fantasy literature is experiencing a golden age,” says John Joseph Adams. “My goal for this series is to prove that the finest science fiction and fantasy is on par with the finest works of literature in any genre.”

Selections for this series will be drawn from a wide array of publications including mainstream magazines, core science fiction/fantasy publications, online venues as well as from original anthologies in the field.

John Joseph Adams is the bestselling editor of many anthologies including The Mad Scientist’s Guide to World Domination, Armored, Brave New Worlds, Wastelands, and The Living Dead. He has been nominated for six Hugo Awards and five World Fantasy Awards. John is also the editor and publisher of the digital magazines Lightspeed and Nightmare, and is a producer for Wired’s The Geek’s Guide to the Galaxy podcast.  He is soliciting submissions at:

Joe Hill is the New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2, Horns and Heart-Shaped Box, and the prizewinning story collection 20th Century Ghosts. He is also the Eisner Award-winning writer of the recently concluded comic book series, Locke & Key.

About Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Trade Publishing

For nearly two centuries, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt’s Trade division has published some of the world’s most renowned novels, non-fiction, children’s books and reference works in hardcover, trade paperback, and ebook formats.  Its distinguished author list includes eight Nobel Prize winners, forty-seven Pulitzer Prize winners, thirteen National Book Award winners, and more than one hundred Caldecott, Newbery, Printz, and Sibert Medal and Honor recipients. HMH publishes such distinguished authors as Philip Roth, Temple Grandin, Tim O’Brien, and Umberto Eco, and a celebrated roster of children’s authors and illustrators including Lois Lowry, Chris Van Allsburg and David Wiesner.  HMH is also home to The Best American series®; The American Heritage® and Webster’s New WorldTM dictionaries; Betty Crocker®, Better Homes and Gardens®, How to Cook Everything®, The Gourmet Cookbook, and other leading culinary properties; the Peterson Field Guides®; CliffsNotes; books by J.R.R. Tolkien; and many iconic children’s books and characters including Curious George®The Little Prince and The Polar Express. For more information, visit