Hugo! Award! Nominations!

So this year’s Hugo finalists have been announced…and I’m up for the Best Editor, Short Form award! Additionally, Lightspeed is up for Best Semiprozine, and a story we published in Lightspeed, “Amaryllis” by Carrie Vaughn, is a finalist for Best Short Story!

To say I’m thrilled would be a huge understatement. It’s been so hard to keep this quiet until the results were announced, so it’s great to finally be able to share the news with you all. It is a huge, huge honor to be nominated, and one I will always cherish.

A big congrats to Carrie Vaughn–it’s her first sf award nomination!–and to all of the other authors who have appeared in Lightspeed. And also a sincere congratulations (and HUGE THANKS) to everyone who works with me on the Lightspeed team. I’d like to especially single out my assistant editors Christie Yant and Erin Stocks, my former assistant Jordan Hamessley, my editorial assistant Stacey Friedberg, our podcast/audio editor Stefan Rudnicki, our former nonfiction editor Andrea Kail, and our amazing webmaster Jeremiah Tolbert–you guys helped shape Lightspeed pretty much from the very beginning, and we couldn’t have done it without you. Thanks too to all of the current team members who have helped keep the ship afloat–managing editor Molly Tanzer, current nonfiction editor Esther Inglis-Arkell, editorial assistant Robyn Lupo, and everyone who works on the slush team. And, last but not least, we all owe a huge debt to Lightspeed‘s publisher, Sean Wallace, for taking the bold step to launch the magazine and for giving us all the tools to put out a great product that we’re all really proud of.

And more generally, I owe a huge debt of gratitude to Gordon Van Gelder for being such a fantastic editorial mentor; I wouldn’t have the career I have today if not for his tutelage. And thanks too to Ellen Datlow and all of my other editorial colleagues who have helped me along the way (both directly–and indirectly, by showing me the way with their great anthologies).

For a full list of the finalists, check out Locus Online’s reportage of the nominees.