NEWS: Carrie Vaughn’s BANNERLESS Wins Philip K. Dick Award

Carrie Vaughn’s BANNERLESS—the very first original novel we acquired and published under my John Joseph Adams Books imprint (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)—just won the Philip K. Dick Award! Huge congrats to Carrie!

The full list of finalists this year were:

  • THE BOOK OF ETTA by Meg Elison (47North)
  • SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty (Orbit)
  • AFTER THE FLARE by Deji Bryce Olukotun (The Unnamed Press)
  • THE WRONG STARS by Tim Pratt (Angry Robot)
  • REVENGER Alastair Reynolds (Orbit)
  • BANNERLESS by Carrie Vaughn (Mariner/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) – Winner!
  • ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells (

The winner was announced on at Norwescon 41 in SeaTac, Washington.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States during the previous calendar year. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the Northwest Science Fiction Society. This year’s judges were Deborah J. Ross (chair), Robert Onopa, James Stoddard, Amy Thomson, and Rick Wilber.